2019 Women of Vision

YWCA Wausau is proud to announce our 2019 Women of Vision. Our 27th annual recognition luncheon is May 17, 2019 from 11am to 1pm at Hilton Garden Inn. Tickets are on sale now until May 10th.   Tickets are $35 per person or $250 for a table of eight.  Tickets are available at Eventbrite.  Women of Vision is a longstanding YWCA tradition that celebrates women who help others and have a vision to make our community a better place.  Our Women of Vision comes from many walks of life- business, non-profits, volunteers- but they have all made significant impact through community service.

This year we will honor three women: Eileen Eckardt, Connie Heidemann, and Christy Keele.  Eckardt serves as the Director of Family Health and Communicable Disease for the Marathon County Health Department.  She has focused her life’s work and volunteer time on supporting families and individuals with an emphasis toward reaching diverse and vulnerable populations.  Heidemann serves as Executive Director of the Marathon County Literacy Council (McLit).  Through her commitment and dedication towards literacy programming, she has changed the lives of many. Keele works as a guardian ad litem, litigating civic and protection matters.  She has a passion for helping others overcome trauma, mental health, and substance abuse as evidenced by creating the organization RISE UP.

Our 2019 keynote speaker is Diane Postler-Slattery, PhD.  She is the President and CEO of MidMichigan Health, but many will know her as the former President and COO of Aspirus Wausau Hospital.  When asked what inspires her, she commented, “Having a goal that you set and that everyone else says is impossible- and then achieving it.  When we achieve those seemingly impossible goals that just wows me.  Then I can’t wait to start working on the next one.”  Our 2019 Masters of Ceremonies are Melissa Langbehn and Phil Aldridge from News 9 WAOW.

In addition to our Women of Vision, each year we celebrate the accomplishments and futures of students and present scholarships.  This year, we will present four scholarships to Sanjana Arji (Wausau West High School),  Isabella D’Burke (Wausau West High School), Kara Krautkramer (Marathon High School), and Kayley McColley (Northcentral Technical College).

YWCA Wausau is on a mission to eliminate racism, empower women, and promote peace, justice, freedom, and dignity for all.  Our local association started in 1920 and continues to thrive by providing presentations, workshops, and conversations around bias, racism, and women’s issues.